Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Council held in the Council Chamber at the Town Hall Chapel Road Worthing on

20 December 2016

The Mayor, Councillor Sean McDonald The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Alex Harman

Councillor Noel Atkins Councillor Nigel Morgan *Councillor Antony Baker Councillor Louise Murphy *Councillor Paul Baker Councillor Mark Nolan *Councillor Roy Barraclough Councillor Luke Proudfoot *Councillor Clive Roberts Councillor Keith Bickers Councillor Jane Sim *Councillor Joan Bradley Councillor Callum Buxton Councillor Bob Smytherman Councillor Edward Crouch Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes *Councillor James Dovle Councillor Hazel Thorpe Councillor Diane Guest Councillor Bryan Turner Councillor Lionel Harman Councillor Val Turner Councillor Joshua High Councillor Vicky Vaughan Councillor Paul High *Councillor Steve Waight **Councillor Daniel Humphreys** Councillor Paul Westover Councillor Susan Jelliss Councillor Steve Wills Councillor Kevin Jenkins Councillor Mark Withers Councillor Heather Mercer Councillor Tom Wye Councillor Paul Yallop

*=absent

C/045/16-17 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bradley, Doyle, Waight, Roberts, Ant Baker and Paul Baker.

C/046/16-17 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests, no declarations were made.

C/047/16-17 Conferment of Honorary Alderman

The Mayor informed Council that at its meeting in October it had been agreed to convene a Special meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on two former mayors who had retired at the May election.

(A) Vic Walker

Proposed by Councillor Yallop, seconded by Councillor Vaughan.

On a unanimous vote, it was

Resolved that former Mayor, Vic Walker be conferred with the title Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Vic Walker with his scroll.

(B) Michael Donin

Proposed by Councillor Thorpe, seconded by Councillor Jelliss.

On a unanimous vote, it was

Resolved that former Mayor, Michael Donin be conferred with the title Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Michael Donin with his scroll.

C/048/16-17 Conferment of Honorary Alderwoman

The Mayor reminded Council that not only former Mayors were honoured, acknowledgment was made when a former member of the chamber is recognised as a true community leader, representing their community.

Proposed by Councillor Smythman, seconded by Councillor Wye.

On a unanimous vote, it was

Resolved that former councillor, Norah Fisher, be conferred with the title Honorary Alderwoman for the Borough of Worthing in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderwoman Norah Fisher with her scroll.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 8.25 pm, it having commenced at 8pm.

Mayor